2017 Race Date:
23rd Jun


The inaugural Black Rock '5', held in 1987, was won by Gifford Kerr - ahead of 66 other finishers - extremely low by today's standards.

The race has been staged every year since - apart from 1991.   Thus 28 races have been held so far and numbers have increased significantly over the years, as has the quality of the top end of the field, with winners including Bobby Quinn and Terry Mitchell.

The new millennium has witnessed domination by H.B.T. with both Phil Mowbray and Don Naylor having taken the spoils.

The race is pre-entry only with the field limited to approximately 1000 on the night.  The race has sold out each year since 2011.

The course record belongs to Ian Harkness, also of the infamous Hunters Bog Trotters, in a time of 22:03.

2016 Results

1Murray StrainHBT23:24
2Neil RenaultEDI23:27
3Ben HukinsCAM23:34
4Scott GreenCEN23:48
5Bryan ClarkCOR24:24

Williams Bros Brewery
Run and Become, Edinburgh
Scotia Bathrooms, Fife
Briggs Marine
Raith Fruit
Scottish Athletics
Myrtle Coffee Services; Race Water Supplier